I’ve been planting the gladioli corms for the last few weeks and have nearly finished planting them all! I still have a few primulinus to put in – these don’t take as long as the other sizes so need to be put in later to ensure some to show for the late August/September shows.

I have planted some at home and also some at the allotment.

The first job with them is to remove the outer skin which they have. The skins need to be taken off so that the corm can be reduced to one spike and also so that the shoot doesn’t encounter any resistance.
20140608-172254-62574615.jpg

20140615-151125-54685250.jpg

Once they have been taken down to one shoot and skinned they can be planted. I use a bulb planter to make a hole and the place the corm on a handful of grit so that it isn’t sat in water which may cause it to rot. Before placing the corm in to the hole I soak the corms in a mix of fungicide and pesticide to protect against pests and diseases, especially the gladioli’s arch nemesis – the thrip!

20140615-150956-54596381.jpg

I plant the gladioli in either 3′ or 4′ wide beds which means that I can access them from both sides to tie them up and keep an eye on them during the growing session.

