My trip to Colne in April proved fruitful in terms of the Auricula. Colne has two specific classes for them and this year they were very well supported. 

Auriculas have always been a bit of a mystery to me, but after an interesting talk with Michael Osborne, of National Vegetable Society fame, I came away with a handful of them from his developing collection. Since then I have acquired a few more varieties bought at the Auricula show in Cheadle which had an excellent plant stall stock with many show varieties.

After Colne I visited Harrogate Flower Show and came across the superb stand of the Northern Auricula Group. I had joined the society when at Colne – it only costs £5! The gentlemen on the stand were very informative and helpful and I look forward to learning about these interesting little plants in the future. 

