Over the last couple of weeks I have started skinning the gladioli corms in preparation for planting during May and June. All the gladioli need their outer ‘papery’ skin removed and then access can be gained to remove all but one of the ‘eyes’. This ensures that just one flower spike will be sent up and therefore should be of good standard as all its energy is put in to it. The only gladioli which don’t require de-eyeing are the primulinus: all the stems can be allowed to flower on them so that they still retain their ‘whippy’ form and don’t become too strong.

The anticipation of the season really builds up once the corms look ready for planting! Another job I must get on with this weekend is planting up my cormlets. In particular, I want to get my seedlings going: a number of which should flower this year for the first time!  

